Skip to content

Sailor Mars: Roses – V1 and V2

January 4, 2013

https://floabn.wordpress.com/2013/01/03/sailor-mars-beta-roses/

The above link is the last post about these. It is not required, but recommended that you read that one too (if not first).

Okay, so like with the last post about the Mars roses.

I’m commissioning Sailor Mars duct tape roses from MinZ Maille to go alongside my next cosplay: Sailor Mars. I got two roses today: the V1 (which there were bad pictures of in the last post about these [I’m giving you new pics of that one here]) and the V2 (which I’ll be showing you for the first time in this post).

I made some ofuda to go with my cosplay thus far. (The link to that post is on the word “ofuda” in the previous sentence).

I’m also commissioning and helping to make a Mars power stick (the original one from the anime).

Also known as her "Henshin Pen". This is the one I'm having made.

Also known as her “Henshin Pen”. This is the one I’m having made. The Mars symbol may or may not be the lit-up version (when it’s red).

We tried out a couple new things with the V2 compared to the V1, but first, here are some better-quality pictures of the V1 rose.

V1 Mars rose. Not the best quality rose, because it was more of a color test than anything else at the time.

V1 Mars rose. Not the best quality rose, because it was more of a color test than anything else at the time.

Side view. You may notice (even from the first picture of the post) that the V1 has a shorter stem. That's because (as mentioned in the last Mars Rose post) we used a pen for the stem base instead of a straw.

Side view. You may notice (even from the first picture of the post) that the V1 has a shorter stem. That’s because (as mentioned in the last Mars Rose post) we used a pen for the stem base instead of a straw.

View of the petals. Gold center, two rows Purple, one row White, two rows Red.

View of the petals. Gold center, two rows Purple, one row White, two rows Red.

Better lighting on the side view. Purple leaves, White stem, Gold ring at the base of the leaves.

Better lighting on the side view. Purple leaves, White stem, Gold ring at the base of the leaves.

The gold point in the center, I learned from seeing it myself, isn't just the pen tip. The tip was wrapped in gold duct tape to give it a similar shine to the rest of the rose.

The gold point in the center, I learned from seeing it myself, isn’t just the pen tip. The tip was wrapped in Gold duct tape to give it a similar shine to the rest of the rose.

So, the V1 rose, as I mentioned in the captions, was the tip of the pen we used as a base wrapped in Gold tape.

In the last Mars rose post, I also mentioned that I wanted to have the centerpiece for Senshi roses be taped over Gold as a new design idea. I was conversing with John about it and he told me he’d try something else. The following images are of the V2 rose he made today.

V2 Mars Rose. This one I requested have the petals flare out more, so that when you look at it from the side, it looks less flat.

V2 Mars Rose. This one I requested have the petals flare out more, so that when you look at it from the side, it looks less flat.

See how it looks like the petals are more open on the side view? I feel like it gives it more of a "rose in bloom" look.

See how it looks like the petals are more open on the side view? I feel like it gives it more of a “rose in bloom” look.

The previous picture I was holding it the way Mars holds the ofuda. This is just a normal side view in slightly better lighting.

The previous picture I was holding it the way Mars holds the ofuda. This is just a normal side view in slightly better lighting.

This is what I was trying to get at. For the center, he cut the bottom of the straw, curved it into a cone, and taped over it in Gold, making it the centerpiece of the rose. I really like the way he did that. The coloring and numbers for the rows of petals are the same.

This is what I was trying to get at. For the center, he cut the bottom of the straw, curved it into a cone, and taped over it in Gold, making it the centerpiece of the rose. I really like the way he did that. The coloring and numbers for the rows of petals are the same.

I love pictures at angles where you can see the petals without them being all in your face. Honestly, unless you yourself are holding it, you probably will be seeing it at an angle.

I love pictures at angles where you can see the petals without them being all in your face. Honestly, unless you yourself are holding it, you probably will be seeing it at an angle.

Holding it upside-down to prove the bud won't fall off or something. I don't even remember.

Holding it upside-down to prove the bud won’t fall off or something. I don’t even remember.

Almost all the pictures I take are with the camera on my phone. It's a terrible phone, but the camera is amazing.

Almost all the pictures I take are with the camera on my phone. It’s a terrible phone, but the camera is amazing.

A good angle of V2.

A good angle of V2.

So, I’m very pleased with the progression between V1 and V2. I’m thinking I might get one or two more of the V2s made.

Leave a Reply

