Skip to content

Mars Power, Make-Up!

January 6, 2013

So, in my agenda post, I mentioned (number 3, if you want to skip to it) makeup for Mars. I mentioned that I would use purple eyeshadow to make my eyes seem purple, etc. Here is a more in-depth post about the makeup. Eventually, I hope to perfect this and make a tutorial post for Mars makeup.

creepy, almost...

They see you.

(You can right click the image and open it in a new tab to see if it’s any bigger)

Alone, this image may seem really strange. A bunch of anime eyes and one real one. But allow me to explain.

The top five pictures are different renditions of Sailor Mars’ left (?) eye.

Three are official art (drawn / designed by Naoko Takeuchi, the creator of Sailor Moon).

Two are different artist renditions of her eyes.

I selected just one eye instead of doing the set because I figure flipping the image would be much simpler.

I added my eye at the bottom so I can try planning out the make-up process. As I cannot currently get contact lenses, I’m going to use suggestive coloring to give my eyes the illusion of being more purple.

Now, in most of those pictures, the edges of the top portion of her eye are jagged. Lots of sharp points and defined angles, especially on the corners. The lower half (the bottom lashes) is very small and thin. Defined enough to be noticed, but very subtle at the same time. I got to thinking about this when I saw a MichellePhan tutorial for Sailor Moon cosplay makeup.

Those eyes are done fabulously.

A screencap of MichellePhan’s Sailor Moon makeup.

I watched some of her other cosplay makeup tutorials (such as Hatsune Miku, Rinoa, and Nana) and decided to work some elements of those into my Mars makeup. In Nana, she redrew her eyebrows in thin lines, which Mars has going on a little bit. Mars’ eyebrows, like her eyes, are dark and defined.

Mars has one aspect of her that I really love and I love to bring out in my cosplay. She WANTS to be gentle, and beautiful, and girly. Her temper gets in the way of that sometimes and it actually bothers her. She wants to be that perfect, sweet girl that people like. She’s often harsh to Sailor Moon because she pulls off a sweet innocence that Mars often has trouble with, without realizing it. It’s almost sad. Mars has a very mature, grown woman look to her. She’s powerful, but wanting to be girly. I want to reflect that in the cosplay.

So, I’m going to be looking over the MichellePhan tutorials again and plotting out the eye makeup first, then the lips and brows and whatnot.

Starting school tomorrow, so I may not post every day anymore. Bye!

From → Sailor Mars

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sailor Mars: Agenda Part 2 « Figuratively Everything

Leave a Reply

