Skip to content

Day 47: They Still Think I’m Just A Planet…

January 7, 2013

Today I went to work and sort of browsed after my shift for some stuff for Mars. After that, I went to the dollar store and picked up some very cheap stuff (primarily makeup). This is a very boring post about what I bought today and what I’m gonna do with it. Eventually, some of these things will become part of bigger, more meaningful posts. But for now, I’m surprised I’m sitting here writing this when I’m exhausted from being out and about all day.

Ta-da.

This is a foam and cardboard dry-erase board I intend to eventually make a full-sized Flame Sniper out of.

This is a foam and cardboard dry-erase board I intend to eventually make a full-sized Flame Sniper out of.

It has what feels like a metal piece down the center to keep the shape. I hope to use that to my advantage when I cut it up.

It has what feels like a metal piece down the center to keep the shape. I hope to use that to my advantage when I cut it up.

These are a pair of red flats I bought, sort of as an alternative to red socks for comfort.

These are a pair of red flats I bought, sort of as an alternative to red socks for comfort.

They feel a little weird around the ankle, but I think it will do less damage to my feet to dance in these as opposed to 3 inch heels.

They feel a little weird around the ankle, but I think it will do less damage to my feet to dance in these as opposed to 3 inch heels.

Almost-clear stick-on nails. I'm actually going to be using nail polish to paint them red, like Mars' nails. My nails are chewed up stumps, and I know from experience that no manicure can make them look good. I usually hate fake nails (the cheap ones, anyway) because they fall off so easily. Hopefully if I'm more careful, they'll last a little longer than 10 minutes. (Reading the application instructions helps too)

Almost-clear stick-on nails. I’m actually going to be using nail polish to paint them red, like Mars’ nails. My nails are chewed up stumps, and I know from experience that no manicure can make them look good. I usually hate fake nails (the cheap ones, anyway) because they fall off so easily. Hopefully if I’m more careful, they’ll last a little longer than 10 minutes. (Reading the application instructions helps too)

I wanted red and purple eye shadow, but this pink and purple is fine for now. We might have red, and if not, I can buy some. After all, this was only a dollar.

I wanted red and purple eye shadow, but this pink and purple is fine for now. We might have red, and if not, I can buy some. After all, this was only a dollar.

This is some terrible black eyeliner I bought. (I don't actually know if it's terrible, but it's not exactly the kind I wanted). Eventually I'll get liquid eyeliner.

This is some terrible black eyeliner I bought. (I don’t actually know if it’s terrible, but it’s not exactly the kind I wanted). Eventually I’ll get liquid eyeliner.

A combo stick of deep red lipstick and gloss. I'm a little skeptical about the color, but we'll see.

A combo stick of deep red lipstick and gloss. I’m a little skeptical about the color, but we’ll see.

I was skeptical about this, but I bought glue sticks. MichellePhan used them in Nana to help erase her eyebrows to be redrawn.

I was skeptical about this, but I bought glue sticks. MichellePhan used them in Nana to help erase her eyebrows to be redrawn.

A mirror set. A handheld and compact for a dollar? Fine by me.

A mirror set. A handheld and compact for a dollar? Fine by me.

So, this is what I decided to try and mimic with actual eyeliner on my eye for Mars. Of course, I'll be trying a couple other ways, and the lower lid will be more subtle than that.

So, this is what I decided to try and mimic with actual eyeliner on my eye for Mars. Of course, I’ll be trying a couple other ways, and the lower lid will be more subtle than that.

I was thinking about getting a satchel or something to hold all my props, and then I saw this. For two dollars, it was worth it. And with a slight adjustment, it stays around my waist without hassle.

I was thinking about getting a satchel or something to hold all my props, and then I saw this. For two dollars, it was worth it. And with a slight adjustment, it stays around my waist without hassle.

Hassle free bag pictured here. It was really hard to get a decent picture of the bag on my hips.

Hassle free bag pictured here. It was really hard to get a decent picture of the bag on my hips.

And I think that’s it for today. Sorry this post is boring, but it was sort of a “hey… before I forget, this is what I did today…” post. I’m moving all the Mars posts to the new Sailor Mars category on my blog (yay!) as of this post. Thanks everyone!

From → Sailor Mars

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

