Skip to content

Mars Earrings: Stage 1

January 8, 2013
That's an ear, all right.

I purchased the pieces for Mars’ earrings today (at Hobby Lobby). I’m pretty sure I’ve answered this question, but I’ll do so again.

Why not just buy the earrings premade?

The answer is that my ears are very sensitive. Also, one of my holes is closed up to the point where if I want to wear earrings, I’m using the earring to re-pierce my ear. It hurts. They also irritate the area around the hole and I’m constantly tugging and itching with regular earrings.

Anyway, so I needed to make clip-on versions of Mars’ earrings for my cosplay.

There are three pieces I needed for them.

First was the base.

I originally was planning on getting a clip on base with an adhesive pad to attach the red circular gem to the top. When I saw the pieces in person, however, the proportions of the three pieces just didn’t work out. So instead, I bought small screwback earring bases.

This is a package of two screwback earring bases.  The brand is "The Jewelry Shoppe" Findings, which I'm pretty sure are Hobby Lobby exclusives (guessing by Hobby Lobby being on the legitimate package instead of a tag / sticker).

This is a package of two screwback earring bases. The brand is “The Jewelry Shoppe” Findings, which I’m pretty sure are Hobby Lobby exclusives (guessing by Hobby Lobby being on the legitimate package instead of a tag / sticker).

They're kinda smaller than I wanted, honestly, but they'll do the job better than the other kind.

They’re kinda smaller than I wanted, honestly, but they’ll do the job better than the other kind.

A note in case the pictures are hard to see, there’s a circular divet (indent) up at the top. under that, there’s a small loop that protrudes out a little.

I put one on to take pictures. It's hard to take good pictures of your ear with a phone. Life lesson.

I put one on to take pictures. It’s hard to take good pictures of your ear with a phone. Life lesson.

I bought an extra package of these just in case I ruined one. I’ll explain how exactly I plan to set it all up after the other two pieces are introduced.

This is the back of the earring. You twist it until it's snug and it stays put.

This is the back of the earring. You twist it until it’s snug and it stays put.

Second is the gem.

By that, I mean the circular piece at the top of Mars’ earring. I bought a small bag of cheap acrylic gems.

These are probably generic Hobby Lobby brand acrylic gems. The size that worked best with the bases was 5mm.

These are probably generic Hobby Lobby brand acrylic gems. 135 count. The size that worked best with the bases was 5mm.

They’re decently shiny, but kind of translucent. The silver backing counters that enough to make them easy enough to work with.

Third is the star.

For the version of Mars I intend to do, her earrings have a dangling 5-pointed star. Finding those is pretty dang hard, honestly. Finding a bigger one was harder. This piece was actually the turning point with the clip-ons, because the star was just far too small to do the 10mm clip-ons I wanted to do. It really was a smart move to look for them in the store instead of ordering them from online and crossing my fingers.

The brand is Charm Me, and I had to buy two of them (two ears). Anyway, they're very small, and I have to paint them red. Hopefully that isn't too hard. I need to find out what kind of paint would work on what I think is silver or aluminum.

The brand is Charm Me (Hobby Lobby brand), and I had to buy two of them (two ears). Anyway, they’re very small, and I have to paint them red. Hopefully that isn’t too hard. I need to find out what kind of paint would work on what I think is silver or aluminum.

So the idea with the earrings is:

1. Paint the star charms red.

2. Use a drop of jewelry glue or superglue on the divet of the base and attach the red gems.

3. Attach the now-red stars to the loop on the earring base with the little ring it came with (or make a new ring with jewelry wire).

4. Wear my Mars earrings.

5. Win.

Guten Nacht

Guten Nacht

School tomorrow, followed by work, probably no post, and if there is it’ll be a little one. I want to make a Stage 1 Brooch post but it’s getting late and I’m tired. Maybe Thursday.

From → Sailor Mars

Leave a Reply

