Skip to content

Mars Brooch: Stage 1

January 10, 2013

Tuesday, I went to Hobby Lobby (where else could I possibly go?) for some supplies. This is the post about the Brooch supplies for Mars. More info below.

Adjusting this formatting is difficult…

Taking up space…

Filler filler filler…

Almost…

One more…

Here we go…

Stage 1: Inventory.

 

First I needed some clay.

This is FIMO Effect Oven-Hardening Clay. They call it metallic, but it's just an almost-ruby red with glitter in it. One thing that I warn about is that these packages are 2 ounces. Luckily I went to purchase them in person and realized I would need two of them to make the brooch.

This is FIMO Effect Oven-Hardening Clay. They call it metallic, but it’s just an almost-ruby red with glitter in it. One thing that I warn about is that these packages are 2 ounces. Luckily I went to purchase them in person and realized I would need two of them to make the brooch.

Second was the shaping tools.

Maybe cookies later

This was just a plain old 75-cent metal cookie cutter in the shape of a heart. Hobby Lobby, of course. I wanted the brooch to be decently large, so that the knot of the front bow of the cosplay would be covered.

The other shaping tool I'm using is my hands. I want it to be handmade, though I may use something to flatten out any fingerprints so it doesn't end up looking like a child made it.

The other shaping tool I’m using is my hands. I want it to be handmade, though I may use something to flatten out any fingerprints so it doesn’t end up looking like a child made it.

Third is the oven.

[Picture not available.]

[What the oven looks like doesn’t make much difference, anyway.]

This is oven-hardening clay, meaning it isn’t going to be fully solid and ready until I bake it.

*Please use adult supervision if any kids are doing this stuff. Even I am not doing this alone, and I AM an adult.

Fourth is the color (paint).

So, for the paint, I’m doing either a clear shine or red nail polish. Fairly simple. I figure it will give it a bit of a shimmer. And colored nail polish is often translucent  so having the red base will really help.

Fifth is the attachment (Pins and Adhesives).

According to a couple different people, E-6000 craft glue is a good choice for this. I’m probably getting some cheap pin bases from Hobby Lobby (honestly, what would I do without one of those around?) and use the glue to secure the pin back to the brooch. I think I’ll decide when my cosplay arrives whether to do 1 or 2 pin backs, and whether to have them vertical or horizontal on the brooch (it would depend which way would attach to the bow better).

This is E-6000 adhesive. This one is considered a jewelry glue, but they have an "industrial" type.

This is E-6000 adhesive. This one is considered a jewelry glue, but they have an “industrial” type, for that extra paranoid person!

So I hope you’ve enjoyed this Stage 1 Brooch post. Tonight, I hope to have a Stage 1 Flame Sniper up. And tomorrow night we may have either S2 Brooch, S2 Flame Sniper, or S2 Earrings up. I hope to have my V2 Ofuda up soon, as well.

Sorry about the makeup posts. Those probably won’t be happening until way later. I realized I need to re-learn how to apply makeup before I get into the super-fancy stuff.  My cosplay should arrive within the next couple business days, and I can’t rack my wig for some reason.

I’m actually meeting with a former woodshop teacher today about Flame Sniper, so I’m off to get ready for that. Farewell!

From → Sailor Mars

Leave a Reply

