Skip to content

Mars Earrings: Stage 2 FINALE

January 11, 2013

The earrings for Sailor Mars can be checked off my list of things I have to do! This is the Stage 2 post (see Stage 1 to know what I mean), and the more-or-less final post I’m doing.

The earrings are in the drying stages at the moment, as the glue takes up to 72 hours for the bond to become permanent.

Stage 2: Get It Together!

This is the star charm. I used 220 grit sandpaper (normal sandpaper, like for wood. The grit is very fine, so it just scuffed it enough for paint to stick better) to create a rougher surface.

This is the star charm. I used 220 grit sandpaper [that black-gray paper under it] to create a rougher surface.

Using the sandpaper was probably the best idea. I used normal sandpaper, like for wood. The grit is very fine, so it just scuffed it enough for paint to stick better.

*Scuff both sides of the star. It will help you later on.

Cheap red nail polish from Rite Aid. Brand: Wet n Wild - Magalast.

Cheap red nail polish from Rite Aid. Brand: Wet n Wild – Megalast.

With the scuffed surface, plain old nail polish works fine. I put one coat on the front and let it sit to dry.

The first coat will look very light. I was worried at first that it was going to end up pink instead of red. After it fully dries, put on a second coat. This coat will be darker and closer to the color you want.

The first coat will look very light. I was worried at first that it was going to end up pink instead of red. After it fully dries, put on a second coat. This coat will be darker and closer to the color you want.

A comparison of the first coat (left) and second coat (right). The second coat made a big difference.

A comparison of the first coat (left) and second coat (right). The second coat made a big difference.

*The second coat will take longer to dry!

To put it in perspective, here is an image of all three stages (sanded, first coat, and second coat). After the second coat is dry, flip it over and do a first coat on the back. This will make it so if the star is turned around at all, it remains the same color.

*Do a second coat on the backside as well!

In this lighting, the difference between the first and second coat don't seem as big. Top to bottom: second coat, first coat, before painting.

In this lighting, the difference between the first and second coat don’t seem as big. Top to bottom: second coat, first coat, before painting.

So, while this was going on (while the nail polish was drying, I mean), the screwback earrings were meeting my E-6000 Industrial Strength Glue.

That extra-paranoid person I mentioned before was me!

That extra-paranoid person I mentioned before was me!

Taking a dab of this stuff, we put it in the divet of the earring and waited two minutes (for whatever a “non-porous surface” is). After that, we pressed on the little acrylic gems.

We screwed it onto a scrap piece of craft foam so it could just chill.

We screwed it onto a scrap piece of craft foam so it could just chill.

We did this with three of the screwbacks, as we had three star charms and you should always have a spare of these things!

After the stars dried, we used two small gold jewelry wire rings (that we use for making micromaille) to attach it to the loop.

Looks like this at this stage.

Looks like this at this stage.

And when you have a pair, they should look like this:

This is Do It Yourself magic, folks. Doesn't get cooler than this!

This is Do It Yourself magic, folks. Doesn’t get cooler than this!

Now, I am in no way a professional or authority. I’m clumsy and sloppy. My boyfriend helped me a LOT with this, and I cannot claim that I did this alone. Thank you so much to him, and please, don’t be afraid to try making things yourself! You may not be really good at sewing your own cosplays, but try making a prop sometime! Or an accessory! It’s so rewarding to see something you made in pictures.

I’m so excited when I see this finished product on me in a picture:

Knowing that YOU did something. I'm not in full cosplay, but I'm showing off something I helped make. I didn't do it alone, but I didn't just sit around and pay someone else off in China to do it.

Knowing that YOU did something. I’m not in full cosplay, but I’m showing off something I helped make. I didn’t do it alone, but I didn’t just sit around and pay someone else off in China to do it.

The finished product.

The finished product.

Thank you so much to John, and amazing sales staff at several stores. And thanks to Naoko Takeuchi for creating the Sailor Moon franchise, one of the things that made me love anime from the beginning.

From → Sailor Mars

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sailor Mars: Agenda Part 2 « Figuratively Everything

Leave a Reply

