Skip to content

Flame Sniper: Stage 1.5

January 11, 2013

So, I consider this Stage 1.5. When I made my planning post, I didn’t actually have the materials. Now I do, so I can make a quick outline post, then jump to start my Stage 2 post, just to get it all done in a fell swoop.

Stage 1.5: Inventory

I think for this I’m gonna do a couple pictures with descriptions of the different pieces, then jump into Stage 2.

First was the Sniper Template.

I printed the Sniper symbol at 200% (approximately 9x9 inches). I cut it out wide, then cut it in half.

I printed the Sniper symbol at 200% (approximately 9×9 inches). I cut it out wide, then cut it in half.

I then took an old poster I had and traced the half-template. I left a gap in the middle to make the center wide enough to put two screws through without damaging it too much. I left it as one big shape after a lot of thought and decided that when I got to the painting stages, I can paint the details on.

I then took an old poster I had and traced the half-template. I left a gap in the middle to make the center wide enough to put two screws through without damaging it too much. I left it as one big shape after a lot of thought and decided that when I got to the painting stages, I can paint the details on.

Second was the Wood.

Just a plain 2x2 ft sheet of plywood from Home Depot. It was cheap, lightweight, and decent quality for what I paid. I chose to work with wood for a lot of reasons, one major reason being that I love the bandsaw. It's a difficult machine to use for small, fine-detailed projects, but I love to do it, nonetheless.

Just a plain 2×2 ft sheet of plywood from Home Depot. It was cheap, lightweight, and decent quality for what I paid. I chose to work with wood for a lot of reasons, one major reason being that I love the bandsaw. It’s a difficult machine to use for small, fine-detailed projects, but I love to do it, nonetheless.

Third was the Paint.

I looked on Home Depot's website for gold paint with a decent gloss (and preferably some protection). I found this metallic gold spray paint and I think it was only $7-8. It's called Rust-Oleum Universal Metalic Paint and Primer (Pure Gold).

I looked on Home Depot’s website for gold paint with a decent gloss (and preferably some protection). I found this metallic gold spray paint and I think it was only $7-8. It’s called Rust-Oleum Universal Metalic Paint and Primer (Pure Gold).

I’m also going to use some red nail polish to put a red gloss on the Mars symbol.

Fourth was the Mars Template.

This is the PhotoShop image I made for the Mars symbol. I have it printed out as a 3x3 inch image (with the original as 4.25" each way). The stroke is supposed to make up for the thickness the symbol lacks in the center.

This is the PhotoShop image I made for the Mars symbol. I have it printed out as a 3×3 inch image (with the original as 4.25″ each way). The stroke is supposed to make up for the thickness the symbol lacks in the center.

Fifth was the Foam.

These are sheets of 12x18" craft foam. Silly Winks Foam Sheets, color: Red. They're lightweight and flexible, and should be easy enough to make the symbol out of.

These are sheets of 12×18″ craft foam. Silly Winks Foam Sheets, color: Red. They’re lightweight and flexible, and should be easy enough to make the symbol out of.

Sixth was the Hand Strap.

As I’ve mentioned before, the hand strap is the kind used to hold a camera without actually holding it.

The strap I bought from Ebay. It was about four dollars.

The strap I bought from Ebay. It was about four dollars.

This is the strap on my hand. The tightening isn't set, but I made sure it could be tightened enough to not slip off. This side is the part the Mars symbol will attach.

This is the strap on my hand. The tightening isn’t set, but I made sure it could be tightened enough to not slip off. This side is the part the Mars symbol will attach.

A little wider on the back than I wanted, but that's fine. This side is an almost leathery fabric with padding. I'm going to attach the Sniper to this side.

A little wider on the back than I wanted, but that’s fine. This side is an almost leathery fabric with padding. I’m going to attach the Sniper to this side.

That concludes the Inventory post for Flame Sniper. Now to start writing Stage 2!

From → Sailor Mars

Leave a Reply

