Skip to content

Flame Sniper: Stage 2

January 11, 2013

This is a follow-up post to my other posts about this:

Unlabeled Stage 1 Here.

Stage 1.5 Here.

Now we’re taking off like Arrows of Mars and picking up the pace! This is Stage 2, baby! It’s fan-flippin-tastic! So go forth! Read!

Stage 2: Shaping

First I took my plywood and traced my template in normal pencil.

Next I went to the bandsaw.

My favorite woodworking machine ever.

My favorite woodworking machine ever.

At the bandsaw, I made the piece I was working with smaller.

The area missing was the new part I was working with. The key to this is to always cut wide. Give yourself plenty of room to work with.

The area missing was the new part I was working with. The key to this is to always cut wide. Give yourself plenty of room to work with.

After getting the slightly smaller piece (which was still about a foot each way), I started cutting away in sections. Another key is base cuts, then relief cuts, then final cuts. For example. The bottom of the arrow in the symbol has the indented area where the fletching and arrow meet. I cut across the base (from tip to tip of the outermost piece), put two small cuts (called relief cuts), then made my final cuts in four parts to get the little bits.

Poorly shown here. (Base Cut: Red, Relief Cuts: Blue, Final Cuts: Green)

Poorly shown here. (Base Cut: Red, Relief Cuts: Blue, Final Cuts: Green)

After I got all the final cuts made, I still had lines. That was on purpose. When you make something out of wood, ALWAYS UNDER CUT. You can sand or file away the lines later, but you can’t easily just stick the wood back on. It’s like getting a haircut. Most people would rather their hair a little longer than they wanted to be trimmed a little longer than for them to have no scalp left. That’s a bit extreme, but whatever.

So, next I went to the spindle sander.

This machine has a sandpaper cylinder that turns so you can sand away curves. Flame Sniper is very curvy, so that makes this pretty perfect. On the sander table is the unfinished product (OMG SPOILERS).

This machine has a sandpaper cylinder that turns so you can sand away curves. Flame Sniper is very curvy, so that makes this pretty perfect. On the sander table is the unfinished product (OMG SPOILERS).

This is the before:

On the sander table, I've already started doing some of the curves.

On the sander table, I’ve already started doing some of the curves.

I used a file to get into the corners between the bow arms and the arrow shaft. This is the after:

Looks pretty fabulous.

Looks pretty fabulous.

So, the next step is to take a power sander and do both sides of the plywood. After that, I’ll spray paint one side, give it (at least) 24 hours to dry, then spray paint the other side. Once the second side is dry, I’ll take black paint and do the fine details (and drying and stuff). The final step to this part is attaching it to the handle.

Then I of course have the symbol to do.

I hope you enjoyed my Stage 2 post. Later!

From → Sailor Mars

Leave a Reply

