Skip to content

Flame Sniper: Stage 3

January 12, 2013

Yesterday (Friday), I worked with John for hours on Mars props. We completed the earrings, we’re almost done the brooch, and started the henshin. One more thing that we did was take the next step towards completing the Flame Sniper summon.

I’ve done three posts about this so far, so if you need to catch up:

Stage 1

Stage 1.5

Stage 2

Now that we’re on the same page, we can discuss what has been accomplished, and what still needs to be done!

Stage 3: The Mark of Mars

I used the Mars symbol I made on PhotoShop and made a template on drawing pad paper. I cut that out and traced with Sharpie onto the craft foam. I printed it as a 2×2 inch image. John cut out what I traced with an X-ACTO knife.

John using an X-ACTO knife to cut the template I made on the foam.

John using an X-ACTO knife to cut the template I made on the foam.

*Sharpie does weird things to this foam. It almost melts it a little, and smudges a lot. I recommend being careful about using Sharpie on this stuff.

The X-ACTO was used to cut out the center heart.

The X-ACTO was used to cut out the center heart, too.

At first, we wanted to use the nail polish to give it a less flat look to it. We tried five or so different things on a piece of scrap, and nothing looked right. So we decided that we had a ton of extra gems from the earrings, why not use them?

So I set up a bunch of acrylic gems to trace the center of the shape. I used the tip of a dead pen to make small indents where I wanted the gems to go, and we used E-6000 glue to secure them.

We considered this a “porous surface”, so we did not wait the 2 minutes before putting on the gems.

I redefined the edges with the Sharpie and we ended up with this:

We bedazzled the crap out of this. It's awesome.

We bedazzled the crap out of this. It’s awesome.

We made a spare (I wasn’t sure if I’d ever need a second one, but we have it!) and compared them to the symbol needed for Flame Sniper.

Pictured: Bedazzled Awesomeness.

Pictured: Bedazzled Awesomeness.

And to top it off, they look amazing.

They look pretty cool, if I do say so myself.

They look pretty cool, if I do say so myself.

So what’s next?

John is sanding the wooden Sniper with 120 and 220 grit paper. After that, we’re eventually going to spray paint with the gold each side of it. Once both sides are dry, I got some black spray paint. We’re going to make a template and use the black to paint on the details.

After that’s all set, we’re going to attach the Mark of Mars to the hand strap. Once that has been secured, we will use a screw (possibly two) and secure the wooden Sniper. It should be complete at that point!

So, two stages from now, I’ll have Flame Sniper’s summon. I’m pretty excited.

From → Sailor Mars

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sailor Mars: Agenda Part 2 « Figuratively Everything

Leave a Reply

