Skip to content

Very Inspiring Blogger Award

January 24, 2013

So, I was nominated for this award on my 50th Blog Post Special. I wasn’t sure what to do and I put off looking it up for awhile. I finally did and still don’t really understand how or why, but thank you!

This is one set of rules I found for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award:

1. Display the award logo on your blog. (I’ll put it on the About page after this)

2. Link back to the person who nominated you.

Maegan Provan, a person whom I assume reads my blog, has nominated me for this. I have no idea why or how it works, but thank you so much for your support.

3. State seven things about yourself.

  • When I made this blog, I had little to no intention of actually using it for anything. I made it as a tribute and thank you to my boyfriend’s family before Christmas. I then posted a final version of my Misa On Wheels tribute, and then slowly started posting some other things I’d written. It’s amazing how much motivation this blog has given me to do things.
  • My favorite generation of Pokemon is Gen 4. Diamond is my favorite Pokemon game to date. I often worry I’m the only one who liked it best. I also have only ever been able to play a Pokemon game all the way through with the Grass starter. I get a lot of grief over that, but I’ve always found Fire types got too much hype. And I found that later in the game it was easier to get by when I built my team around a good Grass type.
  • I currently admin a Facebook page with 1.4 K likes (Deadly Slender Man). I was added as admin last month (~Kiyux), and was worried I wouldn’t post much. Like with this blog, I surprised myself.
  • I honestly don’t mind people believing whatever they want, but I am curious. If you throw out religion against something I say, I’m going to ask why you think that way and expect a good answer. If you can reason your way through why you believe something, I’ll most certainly credit you for that. I’ve heard many a good argument from atheists and theists alike. It’s actually being able to back up what you say with reasoning. “I don’t believe in God because Christians are dumb and Atheism is cool” isn’t a just response. Neither is “I believe in God because you’re all going to Hell if you don’t!”. I only accept competent critics.
  • I have a visage complex, where I worry about the impression people get when they read my writing. For example, I touch upon a lot of sensitive subject material in my stories. I feel like it makes them more engaging and meaningful. I’ve been asked by my readers at times if any of what happens to my characters actually happened to me. I don’t know how to respond to that. I become very emotionally invested in my characters, and it feels like something actually happened, but it didn’t. Another thing is that I try really hard to make my posts as entertaining as possible, while still sounding intelligent. Despite what I said moments ago about competent critics, I do want to make a good impression on all of my readers. I try to point out as much as possible that I’m learning right alongside you when I make my props, but at the same time I get nervous that people will think I’m an idiot.
  • There are two very different kinds of video games that I adore. One is the “be who you want to be” game, and the other is the “love and hate these characters with insane amounts of passion” game. For example, I love games like Fable, Pokemon, and Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning. I also adore games like The World Ends With You, Devil May Cry 3, and Assassins Creed. A lot of small goals and a find-your-own-way story are fun. Adversely, good characters are are fantastic way to get me to play a game. A story to let them shine really helps too. It almost hurts sometimes that gameplay mechanics are all people seem to care about anymore (“Can I headshot this???”, “These controls suck!!!”). I don’t play FPS games, really, because I don’t honestly get engaged. However, I do not count Fallout: New Vegas in that generalization. It is, to date, the only FPS I’ve actually enjoyed, because it was actually more of an RPG than an FPS.
  • I try really hard not to have strong opinions on current events or things with a lot of hype. I feel that joining any cart on the hype train is waiting to crash and burn. I really hate when people ask what I think about the economy, or Pokemon’s new announcement, or whatever is a big deal right now. I’m one of those people who gets into something way after it stops being popular. I remind people of things they used to like. I’m quite often the opposite of a hipster.

4. Nominate 5 other bloggers for this award and link to them.

I don’t really know any other bloggers as of yet, so I’m going to have to do this part later…

5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements.

I wasn’t notified of requirements… When I find bloggers to pick, I’ll let you all know.

From → Family Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

