Skip to content

Future Cosplay Endeavors COUNTDOWN

January 27, 2013

So, I’ve decided the next four cosplays I intend to do after completing Sailor Mars and my secret cosplay. These are ordered by votes I’ve gotten on a poll I’ve run on Facebook.

I intend to have my secret cosplay ready for Anime Boston this year (whether or not I’m going to AB hangs in the balance, but my cosplay will be done, damn it!).

And without further ado…

…the countdown begins:

At the top-slash-bottom of the list, we have…

4. Mew Mew Zakuro from Tokyo Mew Mew / Mew Mew Power

Depending if you watched the 4Kids dub (which wasn’t exactly bad) or the traditional Japanese, it didn’t matter because Zakuro f***ing rules. Infused with the DNA of a Grey Wolf, Renee / Zakuro is the badass Mew. It annoys me a little that her name means Pomegranate, but they never (if memory serves, and by the fact that I couldn’t find the information anywhere on the internet) clarify that in the dub. I always thought it was weird that they were “Mew Strawberry” and “Mew Pudding”, “Mew Mint”, “Mew Lettuce”… even “Mew Berry” in à la Mode… and she was just “Mew Zakuro”. Oh, Americans.

Her DNA is the only Red Data Animal that is not currently endangered or extinct.

Her DNA is the only Red Data Animal that is not currently endangered or extinct.

Tokyo Mew Mew was (in my opinion) a great addition to the Magical Girl genre. I mean… the main character was a kitty girl and it was on a channel that you could watch without getting in trouble! I love when actual anime (meaning non-hentai) can bring in aspects from those things and put them in so casually. Also, Quiche / Kisshu / Dren was the hottest thing this side of an alien planet to me when I first saw it, so… yeah. Zakuro is on my list for sure, even though she got a depressingly low number of votes, probably because an anime titled “Tokyo Mew Mew” doesn’t seem as appealing to my friends as it did to me.

She's also purple, and purple is cool.

She’s also purple, and purple is cool.

3. Sinnoh League Champion Cynthia from Pokemon Diamond / Pearl / and Platinum

Out of all the Pokemon games (games, not anime), there haven’t been a lot of females I liked (excluding Erika from Celadon City, because she was most certainly up there). With Cynthia, I felt she got a lot to her, and was sort of top-tier with the “main characters”. Not only did I like her character, her design was amazing. She had a completely different style to her that was so fantastic to see. Another thing is that I loved fighting her. There have been few Champion battles I’ve enjoyed quite like battling Cynthia. Sure, there was the feeling of finally crushing Gary (Green) for good in R/B/G/Y/FR/LG, or that fearsome encounter with Red in G/S/C/HG/SS, but I don’t think I’ve had the thrill of battling the greatest varied trainer ever, one that I’d never seen before… I don’t know, it gives me shivers.

AKA Shirona, to all you Japan-lovers. She's not only gorgeously designed, she's also cool.

AKA Shirona, to all you Japan-lovers. She’s not only gorgeously designed, she’s also cool.

*Disclaimer* There are some good character designs in the newest games, such as Elesa of Nimbasa City in B/W/B2/W2, but I didn’t put nearly as much time, effort, or excitement to prepare to battle any female quite like Cynthia.

As much as I liked Elesa's design (both versions), Cynthia gets a thumbs up of admiration from me.

As much as I liked Elesa’s design (both versions), Cynthia gets a thumbs up of admiration from me.

2. StarS Yoko Littner from Tengen Toppa Gurren Laggan: Kirameki Yoko Box

This one was almost definite as my next cosplay for a couple weeks before I started thinking about some others I might want to do. I got a decent amount of votes for her, and I have a good idea of how to make her cosplay. When I get the chance (and $30) I can buy the base to keep around until I have time to alter it. Anyone want to make a donation?

The concept art for StarS Yoko. It's the stewardess costume I want to do.

The concept art for StarS Yoko. It’s the stewardess costume I want to do.

It was really hard to resist just doing hers, but needing $30 held me back. If I’m lucky, the sale won’t end before I get the money, because $30 is one thing, $50 is another thing entirely.

Must... resist... donations welcome...

Must… resist… donations welcome…

As for my actual next cosplay, the votes are in and it’s:

1. Rena Ryuugu from Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

Rena has been a cosplay I’ve wanted to do since I first saw Higurashi in 2009. I started out just finding her to be that level of funny and cute that I admired, then I saw her white dress. I immediately wanted that dress. Then I saw her MEAT CLEAVER.

It was love.

That innocent disposition, that shiny meat cleaver...

That innocent disposition, that shiny meat cleaver… My heart cannot withstand…

Higurashi is a delightfully gore-ridden anime that makes little to no sense unless you watch it all at least three times, listen to the drama CDs, play the games, and read the manga. Then you might start to click that something weird is happening in the little town of Hinamizawa. Its a fantastic mind-destroyer and is highly recommended that you don’t watch it more than two arcs at a time, lest you become infected…

Rena has gotten the most votes out of all four others. Half of those who voted for Rena also voted for what is now number 3 in my list (Cynthia).

She's so cute when she's angry, even when she's covered in your blood.

She’s so cute when she’s angry, even when she’s covered in your blood.

Lastly, I think I mentioned it, but my secret cosplay is:

0. Kaguya from Shining Hearts

My secret cosplay I’ve been trying to make since 2011 is finally going to come to fruition. Meet Kaguya, from Sega’s PSP game: Shining Hearts. She plays a pretty key role in the story, despite her initial “amesiac who lost all emotion” story. After all, you wouldn’t be able to get any further in the game if it weren’t for her Heart Keys. I guess it’s almost like KH, but if you not only chose your responses, they actually mattered. And a lot of pretty girls.

Heart Keys of awesome.

Heart Keys of awesome.

I consider this my undoubted “next cosplay”, as I am determined to complete it before May.

She's so pretty. You know, there is another picture very similar to this one on the internet where she's smiling, and the picture has been rotated. I realized it was the same exact image but someone changed the mouth to a smile.

She’s so pretty. You know, there is another picture very similar to this one on the internet where she’s smiling, and the picture has been rotated. I realized it was the same exact image but someone changed the mouth to a smile.

So I hope you enjoyed my countdown, and don’t forget that Queen City Kamikaze is just around the corner! MinZ Maille will be there selling chainmaille and duct tape goods. I’ll also be having my Mars Debut, so I hope to see people who know me there! Also, I promise I’ll write more posts soon. Sorry for the delays!

Korika, signing off.

From → Nerds

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

