Skip to content

Mars Choker: Stage 1 FINALE

February 6, 2013

I’m so so sorry for not posting for such a long time. Life really does get in the way sometimes. Regardless, I have SOOO many posts to make, and with Queen City right around the corner, I really hope I have time to do them all before the debut. Another note, the debut pics and post probably won’t go up until the following Tuesday (Feb 19), because I have a LARP event Sunday and school on Monday. Hopefully I will have time after school that Monday, but I also need to collect pictures from everyone and sit still for awhile to write.

Nonetheless, here is one of the posts I’ve been meaning to make.

Stage 1: All-In-One

Now, the cosplay I purchased was imperfect in so many ways. The choker and tiara were messy and too big, the fingers on the gloves were far too long, the cosplay had miss-stitches, a strange petticoat mesh that made it itchy in certain places, and was made of a very cheap costume satin, which often looks awful in pictures… but it was workable for the price I paid. Honestly, what’s cosplay without work?

As for the choker, it was not only too big, it was missing the star. I was going for a very specific version of Mars, and she needed the star on her choker.

Cue resourcefulness and a boyfriend with skills!

Honestly, if I ever suggest anything to anyone making cosplay props involving basic shapes, it will be "buy cookie cutters".

Honestly, if I ever suggest anything to anyone making cosplay props involving basic shapes, it will be “buy cookie cutters”.

It sounds silly, but I’m dead serious. Cookie cutters are cheap and easy to get. This star was already in my house. Don’t get much cheaper than free!

Pressing the cookie cutter to craft foam leaves enough of an imprint to use an X-ACTO knife.

Pressing the cookie cutter to craft foam leaves enough of an imprint to use an X-ACTO knife.

I personally like to define the line with Sharpie before cutting, but I like defining lines. The key with X-ACTO knives is to make sure you keep the blade straight up and down, or you'll get a strange-looking cut.

I personally like to define the line with Sharpie before cutting, but I like defined lines. That was not the case on this one, because we did the definition a different way.

The key with X-ACTO knives is to make sure you keep the blade straight up and down, or you’ll get a strange-looking cut. John cut two stars for this project, because of the way we were attaching them to the ribbon.

Because the ribbon for the choker was too long, John removed the velcro and resewed it at a better size. It still has some issues, and we may remove the velcro altogether and attach it another way. It's a temporary fix.

Because the ribbon for the choker was too long, John removed the velcro and resewed it at a better size.

It still has some issues, and we may remove the velcro altogether and attach it another way. It’s a temporary fix.

Another tip is to ALWAYS, I mean ALWAYS, use scraps. I'm a rushy person. I don't like to waste time. But I learned that Sharpie actually MELTS this foam, and honestly looks pretty terrible. We used gold paint marker instead, and the results were so much better. We also had to test how black would look on the gold to determine what order to do things.

Another tip is to ALWAYS, I mean ALWAYS, use scraps.

I’m a rushy person. I don’t like to waste time. But I learned that Sharpie actually MELTS this foam, and honestly looks pretty terrible. We used gold paint marker instead, and the results were so much better. We also had to test how black would look on the gold to determine what order to do things.

We sewed the first star right onto the ribbon. I felt it would give it a better hold.

We sewed the first star right onto the ribbon. I felt it would give it a better hold than gluing foam to fabric.

We used black Sharpie to trace the edges, as the foam we were using was red, not gold, and it defined the edges in a nice way. We used the E-6000 glue to attach the two stars together. The second star was to give a more 3-D look, and to cover the thread spot. John preferred gluing foam-to-foam as well.

We used black Sharpie to trace the edges, as the foam we were using was red, not gold, and it defined the edges in a nice way.

We used the E-6000 glue to attach the two stars together. The second star was to give a more 3-D look, and to cover the thread spot. John preferred gluing foam-to-foam as well.

This is what the star looks like now. The black edges gave it definition without taking away from the size at all. The gold paint marker didn't distort or melt the foam, and the glue / sew combo makes it stay on fairly nicely. The only problem is the slight weight to it pulls down on the ribbon, which is why we are possibly going to attach it another way.

This is what the star looks like now. The black edges gave it definition without taking away from the size at all.

The gold paint marker didn’t distort or melt the foam, and the glue / sew combo makes it stay on fairly nicely. The only problem is the slight weight to it pulls down on the ribbon, which is why we are possibly going to attach it another way.

This is how it looks on. If you look, you can see how the star seems to be tugging the ribbon back.

This is how it looks on. If you look, you can see how the star seems to be tugging the ribbon back.

Thank you for joining me on this journey! I’m updating the new Agenda next, but I might not be able to do that right away.

Yoiichinichiwo~!

From → Sailor Mars

Leave a Reply

