Skip to content

Riley Update: Necklace

March 6, 2013

I did the necklace for Riley yesterday. I decided to draw it onto the shirt as opposed to making it. I used the same gold paint marker from Hobby Lobby that I’ve used in the past. I drew on the measurement lines with black fabric marker, which soaked into the black fabric so fast it vanished every time I blinked, so I needed to be quick to draw on the necklace.

Without flash (there was a shadow and the lighting wasn't good).

Without flash (there was a shadow and the lighting wasn’t good).

With flash (to make up for the shadow. This is the color it is in real life).

With flash (to make up for the shadow. This is the color it is in real life).

With paint markers on fabric, they work differently than paint specifically made for fabric, or a fabric marker. They need to be “heat set”. I found a set of instructions online that I’ve simplified:

How to heat set fabric:

Make sure the paint has completely air dried before applying a heat setting.

Use an iron to heat set the paint. Iron for 3-5 minutes on the reverse side (opposite of the application), with a medium-hot iron. If you are using a delicate fabric, where the heat setting must be lower, remember that your heat time will be longer.

Or use a dryer to heat set the paint. If using a commercial dryer at a medium high temperature for 20-40 minutes. If using a household dryer at a high temperature for 40-50 minutes.

Washing and drying tips. Be sure to let the paint dry for at least 4 days before washing, turn the garment inside out, and wash in cold water only. If you hand wash and drip dry it will increase the durability of the paint.

I personally choose the iron.

Another update: meet Riley’s Lucario.

Just a little guy.

Just a little guy.

He's so tiny and cute.

He’s so tiny and cute.

I found him on Amazon.com. I was slightly dissappointed with the price I paid, $4.99 + $4.99 Shipping, because I found out when it arrived that it was a 100 Yen toy from a vending machine. I paid $10 for something worth about a dollar. That made me sad. But it is very well painted nonetheless.

From → Platinum Cosplay

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

