Skip to content

Pokémon Eggs – Happy Easter (almost)!

March 12, 2013

For John and my Easter cosplay photoshoot, we painted Pokémon eggs. It was a lot of fun and I really enjoyed doing it.

All images will open in a new tab / window when clicked.

Before we start with the photos and whatnot, I found an amazing website that has sprites for all the Pokémon eggs, along with descriptions. Apparently it is for an online Pokémon game called GPX+, or Global PokédeX Plus. I’d never heard of it, but I found the sprites to be very good and used them as bases for most of my (non-anime) eggs. The EggDex is in alphabetical order, but you can search by National Dex number or Ctrl+F in your browser to search by name. The sprites are really good and I’ll be using them in my descriptions of the eggs I show.

FireChao’s EggDex!

GPXPlus!

Without further ado, Pokémon eggs!

Starting out, I made a list of Pokémon eggs I wanted to do. I went through Cynthia’s teams (in all the games), Looker, and the anime eggs I remembered. We made two dozen eggs (that’s 24 of them, for math geniuses), with most of them being white but some being brown due to a mix up grocery shopping. We also considered the comic I was making for Looker. The link to the comic itself is right here. That needed Exeggcute. 6 white eggs went toward that.

I organized the eggs (after they were hard-boiled) by what eggs needed what colors and what eggs didn’t need to be painted, as well as putting brown eggs when they could be used and white eggs where they needed to be. I then labeled the cover of the carton to know which egg was going to be what Pokémon.

The eggs were organized.

The eggs were organized.

Next we needed to know what colors to use. We narrowed it down to nine colors, but I think we only used 8 of them because two ended up being nearly identical. We used just normal egg dye I had sitting in my pantry since I was five or something, as well as the vinegar and water it asked for.

Bowls of dye.

Bowls of dye. I labeled the color they were supposed to be so I wouldn’t forget.

We also purchased crayons and tape. I learned as a kid that when dying eggs, tape leaves an area white, while crayons keep their color throughout dying.

Generic dollar-store crayons.

Generic dollar-store crayons.

I took them out and one was already broken.

I took them out and one was already broken.

Anyway, let’s get to the good part.

Spiritomb. The lighter one was made first, and honestly looks better. Chosen because of Cynthia.

Spiritomb. The lighter one was made first, and honestly looks better. Chosen because of Cynthia’s Spiritomb.

Feebas. It was hard to make this look good. Chosen because of Cynthia's Milotic.

Feebas. It was hard to make this look good. Chosen because of Cynthia’s Milotic.

Elekid. One of these was made with a really pale brown egg. Chosen because someone requuested we make the anime Elekid egg.

Elekid. One of these was made with a really pale brown egg. Chosen because someone requested we make the anime Elekid egg.

Eevee. Turned out strange, but I like it. Cosen for Cynthia's Glaceon as well as John's favorite Eeveelution being Glaceon.

Eevee. Turned out strange, but I like it. Chosen for Cynthia’s Glaceon as well as John’s favorite Eeveelution being Glaceon.

Budew. The first one (light top) looked WAY better. Something got messed up and the second one didn't look right. Chosen for Cynthia's Roserade.

Budew. The first one (light top) looked WAY better. Something got messed up and the second one didn’t look right. Chosen for Cynthia’s Roserade.

Shellos (West). The pink dye ran over the yellow. I should have used tape. Oh well. Chosen for Cynthia's Gastrodon (West).

Shellos (West). The pink dye ran over the yellow. I should have used tape. Oh well. Chosen for Cynthia’s Gastrodon (West).

Riolu. The dye was supposed to be blue, but ended up green instead. Also, we used brown eggs. Chosen for Cynthia's Lucario, with a hat tip to Riley.

Riolu. The dye was supposed to be blue, but ended up green instead. Also, we used brown eggs. Chosen for Cynthia’s Lucario, with a hat tip to Riley.

Togepi. The light reflected on them too much for a good picture, so I had to hold them in the shadows. We only made two, one picture was just the other side. Chosen for nostalgia and Cynthia's Togekiss.

Togepi. The light reflected on them too much for a good picture, so I had to hold them in the shadows. We only made two, one picture was just the other side. Chosen for nostalgia and Cynthia’s Togekiss.

Gen 4 Egg Sprite. I didn't know which color egg would look better, so we did one of each. Chosen because we're doing a Gen 4 game cosplay.

Gen 4 Egg Sprite. I didn’t know which color egg would look better, so we did one of each. Chosen because we’re doing a Gen 4 game cosplay.

Gible. Even though the green was supposed to be blue on a brown egg (like with Riolu), the Gible egg I think turned out one of the best. Chosen for Cynthia's Garchomp.

Gible. Even though the green was supposed to be blue on a brown egg (like with Riolu), the Gible egg I think turned out one of the best. Chosen for Cynthia’s Garchomp.

Croagunk. The tape slipped a little and some dye went in, but they looked good. Chosen for Looker's Croagunk.

Croagunk. The tape slipped a little and some dye went in, but they looked good. Chosen for Looker’s Croagunk.

Exeggcute. The pink dye was too dark indoors, but looked great in the sunlight. Chosen for "The Hunt!", which is the Looker comic I made.

Exeggcute. The pink dye was too dark indoors, but looked great in the sunlight. Chosen for “The Hunt!”, which is the Looker comic I made.

And that’s it! Well, almost.

Set 1

Set 1

Set 2

Set 2

Okay, for real this time. Later!

2 Comments
  1. Very cool! I bet it makes egg dyeing more fun.

  2. How awesome is that!?!? Great idea~ and they’re so cute.

Leave a Reply

