Skip to content

“We All Get Stuck In The Bank”

March 20, 2013

Totally serious and sweet story. Take the time to read it.

On my way to school this morning, there was a lot of slush. I was pulling up toward an intersection and put on my brakes only to have them not work. I was nearing a car and didn’t know what to do, because I was going to crash into them. I veered to the side, right into the snowbank.

I tried to back out now that my car had stopped and they were gone. No luck. My engine roared, my tires shrieked, but I wasn’t moving. I cursed loudly and turned off my car, getting out to look at how far I had actually gone into the snow. It was pretty bad. I looked around at the other drivers waiting at the intersection, but they all looked away, pretending they didn’t see me, going angrily around my car like I was a pothole they didn’t want to drive over.

Upset, I got back into my car and called my grandmother. It was really early, too early to call my mechanic and ask him for help. Frustrated, she said she’d call my uncle to see if he’d be able to help. There was no way I was getting to school on time, so I didn’t even care about waiting. I was just annoyed at the other drivers. They averted their eyes whenever I looked at them. They didn’t want to make eye contact.

In the corner of my eye I saw a red truck turning around in the intersection. The guy pulled over on the side of the road behind me, an older guy, maybe late 40s or early 50s. He got out of his truck and started digging me out with an ice scraper. I didn’t know what to say.

Another truck pulled over in front of me, and an even older gentleman, gray and balding, came out with a shovel, which he handed to the first guy. I thanked them both, called my grandmother and told her I was going to be okay. They gave me instructions on moving my tires, and soon I was out of the snowbank.

As I thanked them both over and over, the oldest one said something that stuck.

“We all get stuck in the bank one way or another.”

I know he was referring to the snowbank, and the terrible winters we faced driving in New England, but it meant something more to me.

Do a good deed now and again. After all, we all get stuck in the bank one way or another. Everyone has trouble, everyone faces challenges. Helping each other through the hard times will make it easier. And maybe someone will reach out to you and dig you out of the snow someday, be it with a scraper, shovel, or just a kind word.

Oh, he also told me to invest in a shovel to keep in my trunk. Also good advice.

From → Family Life, Rants

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

